Nairobi by night

As creatives, we always tend to have those once in a while moments when we are not feeling inspired at all. During these periods, we experience something referred to as creative block. “It is the inability to access one’s flowing stream of inspiration and creativity. What was once an overflowing well of ideas may now feel like an endless drought. It can last for days, months or years at a time.” – GoodTherapy.org

Well for me this past week happened to be one of those moments I struggled to get the wheels of my brain turning. Usually, when this occurs, I go somewhere new, preferably out of town, to enjoy what’s out there and in the process try capture it as well. “One’s destination is never a place but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller.

Long story short, my wanderlust was nowhere in sight this past week and instead I will be sharing with you some images of Nairobi from the archives I’d taken three months into the year.

I got a chance to see Nairobi from a bird’s eye view and let’s just say that despite my acrophobia (a fear of heights), it is something I would do over and over and over and over again. Cheap thrills my friend :-D!!

The Bazaar rooftop CBD-15
Koja bus station
The Bazaar rooftop CBD-12
Jamia mosque
The Bazaar rooftop CBD-10
I&M building at a distance
The Bazaar rooftop CBD-8
Nation Centre on the left
The Bazaar rooftop CBD-5
The new UAP Towers on the far right

The Bazaar rooftop CBDThe Bazaar rooftop CBD-2The Bazaar rooftop CBD-4The Bazaar rooftop CBD-7The Bazaar rooftop CBD-9The Bazaar rooftop CBD-11The Bazaar rooftop CBD-13The Bazaar rooftop CBD-14

This photo was taken by one of my good friends Cedi Mungai. Check out his work on @cedimungai on Instagram and on cedimungai.tumblr.com/ on Tumblr
This photo was taken by one of my good friends Cedi Mungai. Check out his work on @cedimungai on Instagram and on cedimungai.tumblr.com/ on Tumblr

There are tons of pictures of different parts of Nairobi by night which can be found under the hashtag #nightbandits on Instagram. Feast your eyes on those too. Guaranteed satisfaction 🙂

Published by nimuexpressions

I am a self-taught photographer who started out in Travel Photography, where I share my travel experiences through my photographs, as well as a bit of writing. With time my interests expanded to Documentary Photography, which has now become my main area of focus. I love to highlight human interest stories and social issues, especially those revolving around everyday life, both in rural and urban settings.

32 thoughts on “Nairobi by night

  1. This is indeed good work en I must say that I didn’t realize what a great city we have. I especially love the Koja Bus Stop. Keep soaring !

    Like

  2. Stunning is what this is! One of my all-time favourites. Keep soaring higher and higher.

    Like

  3. Waaaaooooh! Can I quit and start photography… Good job Nimu… Keep up the good job and spirit…. I liked the intro to Nairobi by night…

    Like

  4. Auuuuwi!!!!! Wairii these are breath-taking! Una-bless mach yangu! 🙂 🙂 Keep up the good work, cuz!

    Like

  5. Pepo ya creative block ishindwe 🙂 I look forward to the new post every Monday.. . No pressure 🙂 Good stuff Nimu..

    Like

  6. Gorgeous pics Nimu!! So breathtaking<3 The one for Koja almost drove me to tears.

    Like

      1. Any chance I can get this as a wallpaper for my dull walls? Beautiful work babe, soon proud 😉

        Like

Comments are closed.